iPad

Should I Roll the Dice on an iPadOS 16 Public Beta? (Updated Jan, 2023)

Can I wait until September for iPad Pro 12.9” external monitor support?

Will J Murphy
4 min readJul 2, 2022

--

Photo by Milad Fakurian on Unsplash

Update Jan 8, 23: Apple implemented full external monitor support in iPadOS 16.2. I haven’t looked back, and I upgraded to a Samsung M7 monitor. So much space!

Update Oct 4, 2022: Apple has temporarily turned off full external monitor support in iPadOS 16.1 betas. It is thought that it will return in a later beta, or perhaps in a 16.2 release of iPadOS.

You can still connect an external monitor to an iPad Pro, but it simply mirrors what’s on the iPad screen. Stage Manager and its support for overlapping windows remains, and has now been extended to non-M1 iPad Pros.

I have been banging on about the iPad supporting external monitors for a long time. Year in fact. I could accept that the iPad couldn’t while it didn’t support a mouse or touchpad. What would be the point? If an app was on the external monitor, you wouldn’t be able to interact with it. Not supporting an extra monitor made sense.

But then it turned out that the iPad could support a mouse, using an accessibility feature. I bought a Logitech MX mouse and (blow me down) it worked! Wonderfully, with the odd hiccup…

--

--