Apple and Business

Is It Time for Your Small Business to Go Apple? Probably Not.

Maybe what employees want isn’t what the business needs

Will J Murphy
5 min readMar 11, 2023

--

Photo by Sergey Zolkin on Unsplash

Apple has experienced astonishing growth in the US corporate market. It has a 23% share of enterprises, according to ComputerWorld. This is a significant change of fortunes.

I’ve worked in everything from a massive telco to start-ups, but only one used Apple products and services for its IT needs. A company I worked for actually banned employees from using Apple Macs.

I was the CTO of the one that did adopt Apple, but I only agreed to it after initially thinking it was a bad idea. I gave into pressure from the sales department, which was probably a mistake!

Anyone who reads my articles knows I’m an Apple enthusiast, so why do I have doubts about using Apple for business?

Supplier Lock-In

Using a PC? You’ve many vendors to choose from. Dell can sell you a stylish XPS laptop at a mid-range price point. Lenovo’s ThinkPad laptops offer durability and security features.

HP’s Elitebook and Probook deliver high laptop performance, just two products amid a HP product suite. If your budget has to stretch further, Asus and Acer are there for…

--

--